Through the year in GB - 2nd Quarter

April

Easter

Easter starts in Great Britain, like everywhere else, with Palm Sunday, followed by the Easter week. From a less religious view with a short working week, but not necessarily, because different from Germany, where the Good Friday is one of the highest church holidays with loads of restrictions, it can happen that you have to work on that day, but therefore the following Tuesday is off.

The German "green" thursday is called Maundy Thursday in Britain. It is a tradition that the reigning monarch gives out "Maundy Money" to honourable citizens as a gift from the royal dynasty. Every recipient gets as much pence as the monarch is aged in years, meaning in 2008 Queen Elizabeth II is 82 years old, so she hands out 82 pence to each of these chosen citizens.

The coins are valid money, but nobody will get the idea to spend them in the supermarket - they are dedicated mints which can not be obtained in any other way, and of course that makes them highly-sought collectibles. By the way, the money is handed over in a red and white purse - the traditional English colours.

A today less practised Easter tradition is the Easter Bonnet Competition, where self-built hats in easterly decoration compete against each other. There are normally three groups: men, women and children.

Hot Crossed Bun
Hot Crossed Bun

The traditional food in Easter time are Hot Crossed Buns, sweet spiced rolls with a sugar-cross on top. Another traditional sweet is the Simnel Cake, a fruitcake with marzipan-filling and -decoration (eggs, bunnies etc.) on top.

Cadbury Creme Egg
Cadbury Creme Egg

Of course there is also lots of chocolate at Easter time in Great Britain. These days you can buy e.g. Lindt bunnies and eggs, but this is a new development, since the normal british Easter present is a big chocolate egg, about 20 cm (8 inches), hollow and sometimes filled with other sweets. It is not surprising that the industry has adjusted to that, that is why you can buy Mars, KitKat- and Cadbury eggs (and many more) ready in a giftbox, which are filled with the respective products. But you can still get the normal plain egg, and as a little extra you can have a name or a greeting "engraved" with icing on top of the egg.

A funny Easter speciality are Cadbury's Creme Eggs. These are somewhat smaller than chicken eggs, consist of a rather thick chocolate mantle and the named creme-filling, which is white but also has a yellow "yolk". The specific consistency makes is a bit difficult to eat, but that is actually the fun of it. The commercial slogan "how do you eat yours?" is well understood once you tried one.

The Boat Race

The title already suggests that this not not some boat race but THE boat race. Of course it is the "eight oars with cox" duel of the the two top-university teams from Oxford and Cambridge, which is held around Easter every year since 1829. The venue is the Thames river in London, where the start is at Putney bridge, and runs upstream over 4 miles to Chiswick bridge. Today this race is of course a media event which is broadcasted live on TV - here in Germany on "Eurosport".

If you watch the race on TV you will notice that there is talk about "Surrey" and "Middlesex", which means the southern and the northern bank of the Thames. From there you can recognise the boats by their colour: Oxford's is navy and Cambridge turquoise. Wearing these colours is a big honour, for which has to be worked hard.The trainining session actually starts in September, and if the camera is at the right angle you can see on the faces that these 6,7 km (4 m 374 y) are no walk in the park whatsoever. In any case there are celebrations afterwards: the winners celebrate their victory and the losers comfort themselves with their fellow students, since there is always next year.

Queen Elizabeth's Birthday

Queen Elizabeth II was born April 21st 1926. This day is normally only recognised on round birthdays like the 80th. Otherwise it is officially celebrated on a Saturday in June, since the weather is generally better. So the Queen has another privilege: she can celebrate twice a year.

St. George's Day

Saint George is the patron saint of England, and St. George's day on the 23rd of April is somewhat like a national holiday - if there was something like that. The St. George's Cross (red cross on white ground) also forms the English flag, which in Germany is most likely to be seen in a football match of the English team.

English Flag: St. George's Cross

St. George never set a foot on British soil, he lived around 300 and was a Roman soldier, until he was ordered to persecute Christians and refused, since he was Christian as well. Hence he was tortured himself and eventually killed, that's how he became a martyr. In the medieval time also a legend was created that he killed a dragon, most illustrations show in on horseback fighting with the dragon.

There are a few celebrations on this day, like a big parade in Morley, Yorkshire. But this is rather the exception, generally the day is noticed, no doubt, but also the attention turns back soon to everyday life items.

St. George is by the way not only honored in England, the former Soviet Republic of Georgia is named after him, where the St. George's Cross is also the main part of the flag. But you don't have to drive that far, since the St. George's Cross is e.g. also found in the code of arms of Freiburg.

Bluebells
Bluebells

Bluebells

From the end of April on you can see a natural phenomenon on Great Britain that is rarely known in Germany - the blossom of the Bluebells. Botanically they are hyazinths, and on their own they are rather unimpressive. The beauty lies in the fact that these plants are blooming in such big numbers that they form a blue carpet in the forests - they are only found in old woods. The blue colour has a shimmering Effekt, like a blue smoke that is almost blinding. This colour-impression is difficult to photograph, you can just an idea from the pictures.

Mai

May Bank Holiday

May is a beautiful time in Great Britain - not only spring is coming to the country, there are two holidays thrown in as well. The first and last Monday in the month are "bank holidays" and therefore bestow two long weekends to the working people. These are happily made use of, since people don't get as many holidays as in Germany. People are "out and about", make short trips or visit one of the vast number of events at these weekends.

Originally the traditional May holiday is on the 1st, where a "Maypole" is erected (corresponding to the German "May Tree"), and spring is greeted with singing and dancing. But the Brits are more pragmatic on these things, it's just shifted to the Bank holiday weekend.

Well Dressing in Derbyshire

Well Dressing Sixth Day
Genesis
(Brackenfield 2008)
Well Dressing Suffragetten
Suffragettes
(Ashford 2008)

Well Dressing is a very old custom which is almost exclusively found in Derbyshire. It is not about fine clothing, as you could guess from bad translation, but decoration of water wells. For this a wooden frame is produced which is filled with clay, and then with the help of a drawn template the motive is created with natural materials such as blossoms, gravel, egg shells etc., the picture is then put up at the well. Since lots of plant materials are used these pictures perish quite quickly, therefore a well dressing never lasts longer than a week or so.

The pictures show religious as well as mundane motives, a lot of them with local references. The custom honours the fact that without water life is not possible. It probably has pagan origins.

The oldest and best known Well Dressing is held on Ascension weekend in Tissington, where 5 wells and a children's well are decorated. But the other towns and villages are no inferior to that, and until September you can visit at least one Well Dressing somewhere in Derbyshire on nearly every weekend.

June

Official Birthday of the Queen

The official birthday of the queen is celebrated on the 2nd Saturday in June with the "Trooping of the Colours", a military parade on the Horse Guard Parade at the eastern end of the St. James Park in London. It is well-known for the soldiers in red uniforms and black bearskin hats, who retain their miltary composure in every weather. The queen is attending in a carriage (in younger years she used to do it on horseback), and after the ceremony she shows herself and the royal family on the balcony of Buckingham Palace.

Wrong Trousers Day

Representative for all charity events the Wrong Trouser's Day may be mentioned here. It is named after a Wallace and Gromit short film, and the idea is that you buy yourself free for 1 Pound (or more) from the obligation to wear proper trousers. Most people wear pyjama trousers and look like Obelix, and the money is donated to aid sick children. It runs along the line "doing something good while having fun", like for example on Red Nose Day.

Wimbledon

The most renown Tennis tournament in the world is held every year in June, and it is not only known for top sport, but also for quite expensive strawberry and cream - if you want to be there you can't be stingy. From a sport's point of view the speciality is the lawn, and at least since Boris Becker's first win everybody in Germany knows Wimbledon.

Next Quarter

Durch das Jahr in GB - 2. Quartal

April

Ostern

Ostern beginnt auch in Grossbritannien mit dem Palmsonntag und der anschließenden Karwoche. Aus weniger religiöser Sicht mit einer kurzen Arbeitswoche, aber nicht in jedem Fall. Denn anders als in Deutschland, wo der Karfreitag (Good Friday) einer der höchsten Feiertage ist mit einer Vielzahl von Restriktionen, kann es passieren, dass man in Grossbritannien am Karfreitag arbeiten muss. Dafür bekommt man dann aber den Dienstag frei.

Der Gründonnerstag heisst in GB "Maundy Thursday". Ein Brauch ist, dass der herrschende Monarch an verdiente Mitbürger das sogenannte "Maundy Money" gibt, ein Geschenk des Königshauses. Dabei werden jedem Empfängert so viele Pence gegeben, wie der Monarch an Lebensjahren hat, d.h. im Jahr 2016 ist Queen Elisabeth II 89 Jahre alt, daher gibt es 89 Pence.

Das Geld ist gültiges Zahlungsmittel, allerdings wird wohl niemand diese Pennies im Supermarkt ausgeben - es handelt sich um spezielle Prägungen, die man nicht auf andere Art bekommen kann. Daher sind diese begehrte Sammlerobjekte. Das Geld wird übrigens in einer rot-weissen Geldbörse ausgegeben - die traditionellen englischen Farben.

Ein heute weniger ausgeübter Oster-Brauch ist die "Easter Bonnet Competition", wo man selbst gebastelte Hüte mit österlichem Design gegeneinander antreten läßt. Es gibt normalerweise 3 Gruppen: Männer, Frauen und Kinder.

Hot Crossed Bun
Hot Crossed Bun

Traditionell isst man in der Osterzeit "Hot Crossed Buns", süsse Brötchen mit Gewürzen, die mit einem Glasurkreuz versehen sind. Eine weitere Oster-Spezialität ist der "Simnel Cake", ein Früchtekuchen mit Marzipanfüllung und Marzipandekor (Eier, Hasen usw.) darauf.

Cadbury Creme Egg
Cadbury Creme Egg

Natürlich gibt es zu Ostern auch in Grossbritannien viel Schokolade. Man kann inzwischen auch dort die Lindt-Hasen und -Eier kaufen. Das ist aber eher eine neue Entwicklung, denn normalerweiser verschenkt man grosse Schokoladeneier. Diese sind ca. 20 cm gross und hohl, und teilweise mit anderen Süssigkeiten gefüllt. Natürlich hat die Industrie diesen Brauch längst in ihre Sortimente einbezogen, man kann z.B. Mars-, KitKat- usw. als auch z.B. Cadbury's-Eier fertig in der Geschenkpackung kaufen, diese sind dann natürlich mit den entsprechenden Produkten gefüllt. Aber man kann auch einfach die normalen Eier kaufen, als kleines Extra kann man sich einen Namen oder einen Gruß mit Zuckerglasur darauf malen lassen.

Eine witzige Osterspezialität sind die Cadbury's Creme Eggs. Diese sind etwas kleiner als Hühnereier, bestehen aus einem relativ dicken Schokoladenmantel und eben der Creme-Füllung, die weiss ist, aber auch einen gelben "Dotter" aufweist. Die spezielle Konsistenz dieser Eier macht das Essen etwas schwierig, ist dafür aber auch spassig. Den Werbespruch "how do you eat your's?" versteht man sofort, wenn man sich an einem versucht.

The Boat Race

Schon der Titel sagt, dass es sich nicht um irgend ein Bootsrennen handelt, sonder um DAS Bootsrennen. Gemeint ist natürlich das Duell der Ruder-Achter mit Steuermann ("Cox"), das seit 1829 jedes Jahr um Ostern zwischen den Teams der beiden Top-Universitäten Oxford und Cambridge ausgefochten wird. Es findet auf der Themse in London statt, der Start ist an der Putney Bridge, von da geht es stromaufwärts bis zur Chiswick Bridge. Das Rennen ist heute natürlich ein Medienereignis, das auch live im TV übertragen wird - bei uns auf "Eurosport" zu sehen.

Wenn man das Rennen beobachtet, wird man feststellen, dass von "Surrey" und "Middlesex" die Rede ist - gemeint ist das Süd- bzw. Nordufer der Themse. Von dort kann man die Boote an der Farbe erkennen - Oxford ist dunkelblau ("navy"), Cambridge dagegen türkisfarben. Diese Farben zu tragen ist eine große Ehre, die man sich hart erarbeiten muss. Tatsächlich fängt das Training im September an, und man kann bei entsprechendem Kamerawinkel an den Gesichtern durchaus erkennen, dass diese 6,7 km wahrlich kein Zuckerschlecken sind. Auf jeden Fall wird hinterher gefeiert: die Gewinner feiern den Sieg, und die Verlierer trösten sich mit den Komilitonen, denn es gibt ja immer das nächste Jahr.

Queen Elisabeth's Geburtstag

Königin Elisabeth II wurde am 21. April 1926 geboren. Dieser Tag wird normalerweise aber nur zu runden Geburtstagen gewürdigt, so wie beim 80er. Ansonsten wird der Geburtstag offiziell an einem Samstag im Juni gefeiert, denn da ist das Wetter besser. So hat die Queen ein weiteres Privileg: sie darf zweimal feiern.

St. George's Day

Der heilige Georg ist der Schutzheilige von England, und der St. George's Day am 23. April gilt als so etwas wie ein Nationalfeiertag - wenn es denn so was gäbe. Das St. George's Cross (rotes Kreuz auf weissem Grund) bildet auch die englische Nationalflagge, welche man in Deutschland noch am ehesten bei Fussballspielen der englischen Nationalelf sieht.

English Flag: St. George's Cross

St. Georg hat nie einen Fuss auf die britischen Inseln gesetzt, er lebte in der heutigen Türkei um ca. 300 und war ein römischer Soldat, bis er Christen verfolgen sollte und sich weigerte, weil er ebenfalls Christ war. Daraufhin wurde er selbst gefoltert und getötet, seitdem gilt er als Märtyrer. Im Mittelalter enstand noch die Legende, dass er einen Drachen getötet hätte. Die meisten Bilder zeigen ihn auf dem Ross, wie er den Drachen bekämpft.

Es gibt zwar Feierlichkeiten zu diesem Tag, so ist z.B. eine grosse Parade in Morley in Yorkshire. Allerdings ist das eher die Ausnahme, denn im allgemeinen man nimmt den Tag zwar wohl zur Kenntnis, geht aber dann auch gleich wieder zum Tagesgeschäft über.

St. George wird nebenbei nicht nur in England verehrt, so ist auch die ehemalige Sowjetrepublik Georgien nach ihm benannt, das St. Georgs-Kreuz bildet dort ebenfalls den Hauptbestandteil der Flagge. Aber man muss nicht so weit fahren, denn das St. Georgs-Kreuz findet sich z.B. auch im Wappen von Freiburg.

Bluebells
Bluebells

Bluebells

Ab Ende April kann man in Grossbritannien ein Naturphänomen beobachten, das in Deutschland wenig bekannt ist - die Blüte der Bluebells. Dies sind botanisch gesehen Hyazinthen, die alleine eher unscheinbare Pflanzen darstellen. Was den Reiz ausmacht, ist dass die Pflanzen so zahlreich blühen, dass sie im Wald (denn nur dort blühen sie) regelrecht einen blauen Teppich formen . Die Farbe hat einen schillernden Effekt, als wäre ein blauer Rauch im Wald, und das Blau blendet förmlich. Der farbliche Eindruck, den man beim Anblick dieser Blumen bekommt, ist sehr schwierig zu fotografieren, man kann durch die Bilder immer nur eine Ahnung davon bekommen.

Mai

May Bank Holiday

Der Mai ist in Grossbritannien eine schöne Zeit - nicht nur kommt der Frühling ins Land, es gibt auch noch zwei Feiertage dazu. Der erste und der letzte Montag im Monat sind sogenannte "Bank Holidays" und bescheren damit zwei lange Wochenenden. Diese werden auch gerne genutzt, denn es gibt nicht so viele Urlaubstage wie in Deutschland. Man ist "out and about", macht Kurzausflüge oder besucht eine der vielen Veranstaltungen an diese Wochenenden.

Eigentlich ist der traditionelle Feiertag wie bei uns der 1. Mai, an dem ein "Maypole", also eine Art Maibaum aufgestellt wird, an dem mit Feiern und Tanzen der Frühling begrüßt wird. Aber die Briten sind da etwas pragmatischer veranlagt, das wird heutzutage dann eben auf das Bank Holiday weekend verlegt.

Well Dressing in Derbyshire

Well Dressing Sixth Day
Schöpfungsgeschichte
(Brackenfield 2008)
Well Dressing Suffragetten
Suffragetten
(Ashford 2008)

Das "Well Dressing" ist ein uralter Brauch, der fast ausschliesslich in Derbyshire verbreitet ist. Dabei handelt es sich nicht, wie man bei schlechter Übersetzung vermuten könnte, um gute Kleidung, sondern um das Schmücken von Brunnen (Well = Quelle). Dazu wird ein Bild hergestellt aus einem Holzrahmen, der mit Lehm gefüllt wird und dann nach einer gezeichneten Vorlage mit natürlichen Materialien wie Blüten, Kieselsteinchen, Eierschalen usw. das Motiv auf dem feuchten Lehm gebildet wird, das dann an dem Brunnen angebracht wird. Durch die Verwendung von Blüten und anderem pflanzlichem Material sind die Bilder dann auch schnell vergänglich, daher dauert ein Well-Dressing nie länger als eine Woche.

Auf den Bildern werden sowohl religiöse als auch weltliche Motive dargestellt, vielfach auch mit lokalem Bezug. Mit der Zier wird die Tatsache geehrt, dass ohne Wasser kein Leben möglich ist. Dieser Brauch hat vermutlich einen heidnischen Ursprung.

Das älteste und bekannteste Well Dressing findet am Himmelfahrts-Wochenende in Tissington statt, wo 5 Quellen und eine Kinder-Quelle verziert werden. Die anderen Städten und Gemeinden stehen dem aber nichts nach, man kann bis zum September an fast jedem Wochenende mindestens ein Well Dressing irgendwo in Derbyshire besuchen.

Juni

Offizieller Geburtstag der Queen

Der offizielle Geburtstag der Queen wird am 2. Samstag im Juni mit dem "Trooping the Colours" gefeiert, einer Militärparade auf der Horse Guard Parade, am Ostende des St. James Parks in London. Berühmt sind die Soldaten mit den roten Röcken und den Bärenfellmützen, die bei jedem Wetter eisern die Disziplin halten. Die Queen nimmt die Parade in einer Kutsche ab (in jüngeren Jahren sass sie auf dem Pferd), und nach der Zeremonie zeigt sie sich mit dem Rest der königlichen Familie auf dem Balkon des Buckingham Palace.

Wrong Trousers Day

Stellvertretend für alle Benefiz-Aktionen sei hier der Wrong Trousers Day (Tag der verkehrten Hose) genannt, der am 27. Juni begangen wird. Die Idee dafür wurde einem Wallace and Gromit Kurzfilm entnommen - "The Wrong Trousers", der, wie so oft, bei der Übersetzung verfälscht wurde und bei uns "Die Techno-Hose" heisst. Die Idee ist, dass man sich für 1 Pfund (oder mehr) von der Verpflichtung freikauft, korrekte Hosen zu tragen. Meistens trägt man dann Schlafanzug-Hosen und sieht aus wie Obelix, und das Geld kommt kranken Kindern zugute. Das Ganze läuft nach dem Motto "Gutes tun und Spass dabei", wie z.B. auch beim Red Nose Day.

Wimbledon

Das renommierteste Tennis-Turnier der Welt findet jedes Jahr im Juni statt, wobei es nicht nur für Spitzensport, sondern auch für sündhaft teure "Strawberries and Cream" bekannt ist - wer dabei sein will, muss sich das auch was kosten lassen. Sportlich ist natürlich der Rasen die Besonderheit, und spätestens seit Boris Becker's erstem Sieg muss man in Deutschland nicht mehr erklären, was es mit Wimbledon auf sich hat.

Nächstes Quartal